Socks, Socks and hmmmm…. Socks…

Last Saturday I went back to my LYS, Raging Wool,  for my second class on knitting 2 socks at the same time.  I felt like I pretty much got it but since the class I signed up for included 3 sessions I wanted to go.  And I must say I really enjoyed going.  It was so peaceful to be sitting there knitting with all that beautiful yarn around me & just chit chatting with everyone.  I truly lost track of time while I was there, I think I was there for over 2 hours.  LOL  Oh, And while I was there Alice, the owner, was talking about some yarn samples that she just got in for socks.  Of course my curiosity got the best of me & I asked if I could see it.  And it was beautiful!!!  I absolutely loved it and asked if it was for sale & if I could buy one skein!  LOL  It was Plymouth Yarn Neon.  And though I wanted one of each I bought the Orange/Pink one.  My eyes just kept falling on that one.  I love it!!  It just looked so happy & cheery that I couldn’t resist buying it!!  I can’t wait to use it!!

IMG_4564

But anyways, I was able to finish my 2 at a time slippers!  I think I have finally gotten the hang of knitting 2 at a time!  And it really isn’t too bad!  I think the hardest part about it was the cast on.  But after a few rows, I it isn’t as scary as I had once thought it to be.  And I’m ready to try it again!  I have 2 requests for these slippers, my daughter & my hubby, so this weekend I will go back to the shop & try to cast on for my next pair!

IMG_4561 IMG_4562

IMG_4560 IMG_4546

Overall, I really am glad I learned this method!  It wasn’t as scary or hard as I first thought it to be!  I’m sure after a couple more times of casting on even that will get easier!

I also finished my Sand Dune socks!!  The pattern is November Socks,  It’s a great pattern, very easy to understand and knit & I love the way it came out.  The pattern on the leg of the sock came out really good!  It’s stretchy but not too stretchy.  And it is a different spin on just a normal rib!

Oh, and remember from a previous post how the toe decrease was very unique & made a swirl effect.  Well, that wasn’t a coincidence.  The 2nd sock had the same effect!  Pretty cool!

IMG_4568 IMG_4569

I don’t know about everyone else but I tried really hard to keep the striping & coloring of both of these socks the same!  It never quite works out for me, though I was really close on these!  But I guess that’s ok, it’s another reason why hand knit socks are so unique right!?  LOL

IMG_4565 IMG_4566

And I must say these are very comfy!  The yarn, Patons Kroy Socks Jacquards, was perfect for this pattern!

IMG_4557And now both socks are being blocked.  LOL

IMG_4570

Since I am taking part in the year long  Socks With Sarah KAL and I have tons of sock yarn stashed, I’m trying to figure out what to do next.  The hard part is there are so many pretty sock yarns in my stash, I’m having a hard time picking one to knit.  I love them all!  And a very small part of me just wants to keep them!  But I know they would look just as pretty if not better knitted up as a sock.  But then what if I choose the wrong pattern to go with the sock yarn I choose?  LOL  Does anyone else have this dilemma or is it just me?

IMG_4571which one to choose!!!  :-/

17 responses »

  1. I am a neon color freak! I’m so jealous!

    I’ve never tried to match up the stripes on my handknit socks. If I tried to make them the same, and they ended up even the slightest but different, I’d be really upset. It’s just easier on me to make them fraternal twins on purpose! 🙂

    • Lol. I don’t try that hard to match them up. But I do try to get them somewhat close. It doesn’t bother me too much though when they don’t match.
      I’m not into neon that much but that color just caught my eye. I hope to cast on tonight. I’m thinking I’ll just do a rib sock with it. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Neon Socks | A Bunch of Everything

  3. Man, I wish I could knit socks!! I literally knit one sock and didn’t even make the 2nd one of the pair because I was so frustrated. Can I just say that I hate heels. But your socks are awesome 😀 Look very cozy.

    • Thank you!
      The first pair I made was fun but also hard. The heel was the hardest part for me for a long time. I would tell my hubby not to talk to me until I was done. Lol. But now I love the heel. I’m sure if you keep at it you will love knitting socks!

Leave a comment